Everything you need for BPS Psychiatric Pharmacy preparation lives in one place at Prep4SureReview: a printable PDF, two test engines, free updates for 365 days, and a demo to try first. Grab the BCPP package in 2026 and turn a vague study plan into a finished one.
BPS BCPP Exam Overview:
| Certification Vendor: | Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) |
|---|---|
| Exam Name: | Psychiatric Pharmacy Specialty Certification Examination |
| Exam Number: | BCPP |
| Certificate Validity Period: | 7 years; recertification required |
| Related Certifications: | Board Certified Ambulatory Care Pharmacist (BCACP) Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist (BCPS) |
| Real Exam Qty: | 150 items (125 scored and 25 unscored) |
| Passing Score: | Not publicly specified; determined by BPS |
| Exam Price: | $600 USD (initial application fee; confirm current fees with BPS) |
| Available Languages: | English |
| Exam Duration: | 225 minutes |
| Exam Format: | Some multiple-response questions and image-supported items may be used, Computer-based examination, Multiple-choice questions (primarily four-option, single-response) |
| Recommended Training: | BPS Sample Examination Items American Association of Psychiatric Pharmacists (AAPP) BPS Official Examination Content Outline |
| Exam Registration: | Pearson VUE BPS Examination Scheduling BPS Examination Dates and Fees BPS Candidate's Guide BPS Psychiatric Pharmacy Certification |
| Exam Way: | Primarily computer-based testing at Pearson VUE test centers. Remote testing is not standard and may be approved only in limited circumstances for eligible candidates. |
| Pre Condition: | Applicants must graduate from an ACPE-accredited pharmacy program or an equivalent program qualifying them to practice in their jurisdiction, hold a current active pharmacist license or registration, and meet one of the following within the past 7 years: at least 4 years of psychiatric pharmacy practice experience with at least 50% of work within the examination scope; completion of a PGY1 pharmacy residency plus at least 2 years of qualifying psychiatric pharmacy practice experience; or completion of a PGY2 psychiatric pharmacy residency. Practice experience must be post-licensure. |
| Official Syllabus URL: | https://bpsweb.org/wp-content/uploads/BCPP-2025-Examination-Specifications.pdf |
BPS BCPP Exam Syllabus Topics:
| Section | Weight | Objectives |
|---|---|---|
| Topic 1: Mental Health | 36% | - Mental Health Conditions and Disorders
|
| Topic 2: Therapeutics and Patient Management | 49% | - Therapeutic Implementation, Outcomes, and Monitoring
|
| Topic 3: Professional Practice | 15% | - Practice Management
|
Everything You Want to Know About the BPS Psychiatric Pharmacy (BCPP) Exam
The BCPP exam, officially titled Psychiatric Pharmacy, is the BPS exam you pass to earn the Board-Certified Psychiatric Pharmacist (BCPP) certification, a credential at the Specialty Certification level. Passing it confirms the skills defined in the official exam outline, and it is associated with related credentials such as Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist (BCPS), Board Certified Ambulatory Care Pharmacist (BCACP).
The BCPP exam includes 150 items (125 scored and 25 unscored) questions and gives you 225 minutes to finish them. That is a tight pace per question, so get used to reading each stem once, flagging anything uncertain, and moving on rather than getting stuck. Running timed practice tests in the Prep4SureReview desktop or online test engine is the most reliable way to build that rhythm before exam day.
The passing score for the BCPP exam is Not publicly specified; determined by BPS, and the official registration fee is $600 USD (initial application fee; confirm current fees with BPS). Keep in mind that a failed attempt means paying $600 USD (initial application fee; confirm current fees with BPS) again in full to retake it, so book your slot only when your scores on Prep4SureReview practice tests sit consistently above the passing line.
BPS lists the following prerequisites or eligibility notes for the BCPP exam: Applicants must graduate from an ACPE-accredited pharmacy program or an equivalent program qualifying them to practice in their jurisdiction, hold a current active pharmacist license or registration, and meet one of the following within the past 7 years: at least 4 years of psychiatric pharmacy practice experience with at least 50% of work within the examination scope; completion of a PGY1 pharmacy residency plus at least 2 years of qualifying psychiatric pharmacy practice experience; or completion of a PGY2 psychiatric pharmacy residency. Practice experience must be post-licensure.. Requirements can change over time, so confirm the details on the official exam page at BPS's official site before you register.
You can register for the BCPP exam through the official channels below:
- BPS Psychiatric Pharmacy Certification
- BPS Candidate's Guide
- BPS Examination Dates and Fees
- Pearson VUE BPS Examination Scheduling
The exam is delivered in the following format: Primarily computer-based testing at Pearson VUE test centers. Remote testing is not standard and may be approved only in limited circumstances for eligible candidates.. Choose a date that leaves you enough time to work through the full 0-question practice set first.
BPS recommends the following training resources for BCPP candidates:
- American Association of Psychiatric Pharmacists (AAPP)
- BPS Official Examination Content Outline
- BPS Sample Examination Items
Official courses build the theory, and the 0 practice questions from Prep4SureReview help you turn that theory into exam-ready speed and accuracy.
Yes. Prep4SureReview offers a free PDF demo of the BCPP material, so you can check the question style and answer quality before purchasing. Every purchase also includes 365 days of free updates, and if your product expires you can extend the update service at a 50% discount from your member zone.
Your purchase is protected by a 100% Money Back Guarantee with clear conditions: if you take the corresponding BCPP exam within 60 days of purchase and do not pass, you can apply for a full refund. The candidate name must match the payer name, and you need to submit a scanned exam enrollment slip together with the official Score Report PDF within 2 days of taking the exam; claims are processed within 7 days. Sitting the exam within 3 days of purchase, downloading without taking the exam, free materials, and expired orders are not covered. If you would rather not take a refund, you can exchange your order for two free exam products of equal value and keep the update service on your original purchase.
Delivery is instant: your download links are emailed within one minute of payment, and you can also download directly from the website. If nothing arrives within 2 hours, contact customer service and check your spam folder. There is no limit on how many computers you can install the material on.
The BCPP exam blueprint is divided into 3 domains, starting with Professional Practice (15%); Therapeutics and Patient Management (49%); Mental Health (36%). For the complete domain-by-domain breakdown, see the Exam Topics section above — it lists every topic the current outline covers.






